Connecticut Considers Making Cellphone Violations Known to Insurers
The state of Connecticut may soon be taking an interesting approach to cutting down on texting and driving. Distracted driving, including texting and talking on a cellphone at the wheel, is already illegal within the state, but some feel that more could be done to dissuade drivers from engaging in such behavior. Lawmakers in the Transportation Committee of the General Assembly will thus consider a measure that would allow law enforcement entities to inform insurance companies of distracted driving citations. Drivers caught texting could then find themselves facing heightened insurance rates. The bill also makes current fines more stringent, doubling first time violations to $50 and increasing second and subsequent violations to $300 and $500, respectively.
Follow this link to learn more about the proposed law.