New Jersey Assembly Approves Stricter Cellphone Driving Law

Posted on March 22, 2013

In New Jersey, talking on one’s cellphone or texting while driving are already illegal offenses.  But lawmakers are currently considering whether or not the current penalties go far enough, and an initial vote shows that fines may soon get quite a bit higher for those who insist on breaking the law multiple times.  The State Assembly passed a measure that would make initial citations $200, a number that doubles for a subsequent offense.  If a violator is cited a third time, he or she would have to pay $600, and they could also have their license suspended for three months.  Before the measure becomes law, however, it will need to be voted on by the Senate.

Click here for more information.

How Can We Help You?

If you have a legal matter you would like to discuss with an attorney from our firm, please call us at (310) 477-1700 or complete and submit the e-mail form below, and we will get back to you.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*Required Fields