Virginia Could Alter Its Texting and Driving Ban This Year
It’s been four years since the state of Virginia enacted some sort of measure on distracted driving. It was 2009 when texting behind the wheel received the designation of a secondary offense, a breach which if detected would cost the driver a relatively small $20. Although numerous groups have pushed for strengthening the law, such efforts have been fruitless thus far. But a member of the state’s AAA believes that this could be the year Virginia gets tough on distracted driving. Four proposals currently await debate by lawmakers, and if passed, the bills would do such things as make texting a primary offense (meaning texting alone could be grounds for a traffic stop) and increase fines to up to $2,500 or a year in jail.
Click here to learn more.