A Stronger Virginia Texting Ban Inches Closer to Reality
The state of Virginia has drawn one step closer to bolstering anti-texting while driving legislation. A stronger version of the law was pre-filed Tuesday and then endorsed yesterday by the Virginia State Crime Commission. Currently, the law is only a secondary offense, so anyone texting behind the wheel can only be pulled over if he or she engages in some other breach of the law. However, the new law would make texting a misdemeanor, but it would also encompass any non-call activities, such as interacting with social media or playing games. Any offender could be required to pay a $2,500 fine or spend a year in jail, quite an uptick from the current $20 fine.
Click here to learn more about the strengthened ban.