Texting While Driving Illegal in Alabama Starting August 1

Posted on July 18, 2012

In Alabama, the Governor has signed a law outlawing texting while behind the wheel.  Effective August 1, people will no longer be able to text or use any social media while driving. Fines will cost $25 for a first citation, $50 the second time, and later offenses run drivers $75.  Police have said that they welcome this law because of the proliferation of traffic accidents from texting and other distractions.  Drivers may still use their phones to talk and may, for instance, check a phone number by glancing down.

To learn more about the new law, click here.

How Can We Help You?

If you have a legal matter you would like to discuss with an attorney from our firm, please call us at (310) 477-1700 or complete and submit the e-mail form below, and we will get back to you.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
*Required Fields