Dothan Police Sergeant Offers Tips Ahead of Alabama Texting Ban
Alabama’s new texting and driving law goes into effect on August 1. A sergeant with the Dothan Police Department noted that the law applies to any device that allows a user the ability to text and receive messages while driving. He stated that drivers should even program their GPS devices in advance so they are not distracted while operating a vehicle. The initial offense incurs a $25 fine, but when you add in court costs, the real payout is $209.50.
Follow this link to learn more about the law.