Steep Fines Await California Drivers Who Touch Their Phones
Starting January 1 of next year, drivers in California will be allowed to text while driving ONLY if it is being done hands-free through a voice command application. A CHP officer commenting on the new law made it very clear that fines will still be issued if a driver is seen holding the cell phone. He stated that hands-free is the operative term. Fines will start at $20, but could be as much as $100 once various administrative fees and penalties are taken into account.
We’ve previously reported on this story, but each article brings a new facet to the story. Click here to learn more.