New California Child Car Seat Law Begins In 2012
According to news sources, a new California law demanding that children under 8 years of age be placed in booster or car seats in the back seat of the vehicle will go into effect beginning Jan. 1, 2012.
The law replaces older child safety requirements in the state that called for children under the age of 6 or children weighing under sixty pounds to be placed in a booster seat. The new requirements to take effect will now force parents or guardians to place any child under the age of 8 in the back seat of the vehicle on a booster or car seat, except those taller than 4 feet 9 inches. For children under 8 years of age who are taller than the minimum requirement can be seated in the back seat with just a shoulder belt.
The new law will reportedly lead to increased safety, with the California Office of Traffic Safety estimating that about 45 percent of children would have better chances at surviving a car crash if they were kept in a booster seat at the time of collision.
The new law will reportedly carry a $475 penalty for each violation.
As a Los Angeles personal injury attorney, I urge all drivers and passengers to comply with existing seat belt laws. . I hope that this information will help raise awareness around the benefits of wearing seat belts and that the campaign currently being enforced can help make people on the road safer. If you have been injured in a car accident at the fault of someone else, contact a car accident attorney Los Angeles to help you as soon as possible.